P&C

Ithaca Creek has a culture and history of strong parental involvement in the School. Each year, hundreds of parents are involved in one way or another. Inside the classroom is one way, be it reading to students, assisting with art class or helping the learning program in some other way. Other forms of involvement relate to events and fund-raising, from helping at tuckshop (a great way to meet people), to providing goods for raffles and events, and running food stalls at our big events. As well, there is considerable scope for parents to use their work-related and professional skills, from such things as using business and management skills to run the sub-committee services; architectural/planning skills to assist with capital and grounds development; or grant-writing skills to access external funds.

Our philosophy is that all parents have something to offer, and something to gain, from being involved in the life of the School. In the great democratic tradition of public education, we also strongly believe that all parents are equally valuable, and that every contribution, whether it's helping at tuckshop or lobbying politicians, is equally important.

All parents at Ithaca Creek can be members of the Parents and Citizens Association. Incorporated by statute under the Education Act, there's a P&C Association in every school. The main role of the P&C is to assist the School, which is done through being the voice of parents on policy issues, and providing advice to the Principal from time to time on operational matters. On a practical level, the P&C is the body which organises events such as movie night, trivia night, and gift stalls for Mother’s and Father’s day. The aim of these events is two-fold. Community engagement is one aim, so that parents and kids can be involved in the life of the school, have a bit of fun, and get to know each other. The second purpose is to raise funds for the School. Such funds are allocated to the School annually and are usually spent on learning-related items which benefit the majority of students eg computer technology support, whole-school enrichment, or extra curriculum materials.

The P&C also runs some services such as the Tuckshop and Uniform shop, Outside school hours care and Swimming club. The mechanism for running these parent-friendly services is via sub-committees made up of interested parents. These services have paid employees, as well as volunteer parents, and the sub-committees are there to manage the operation, and make sure the services remain viable, and useful for parents.

ICSS Parents and Citizens Association Contacts

P&C EXECUTIVE 2017 Elected Representative­s, as elected by P&C members, and typically attending all P&C General Meetings
Position Name Contact Responsibilities
President Robert Dunne pandcpresident@icsspandc.com
Jack 6/5E, George 2C and Hugh 4yrs
Improving the schools learning opportunities.
Oversight of P&C governance and implementation of P&C responsibilities
​Vice President Julie Evans pandcvp3@icsspandc.com
Liv 6/5A, Yumi 2A
Supporting the President’s responsibilities.
Succession planning.
Assisting the delivery of learning programs.
Coordinating Class Representatives.
​Vice President ​Simon Bliss pandcvp2@icsspandc.com
Rory Grade 6, Digby 2C and Eliza 2D
Supporting the Secretary’s responsibilities.
Strategic Partnerships
Vice President Rob Kneebone pandcvp1@icsspandc.com
Katie 2C, Isabelle 3 years
Supporting the Treasurer’s responsibilities
Assisting the delivery of the school’s identified projects
Treasurer Claire Hooper pandctreasurer@icsspandc.com
George Grade 2, Agnes Prep A
Coordinating finance, banking and auditing
Fundraising
Secretary Geoff Breemer pandcsecretary@icsspandc.com
Emma Prep B
The P&C one point of all contact for inward and outward correspondence
Coordinating P&C communications through the school with parents and class representatives
Recording minutes of P&C general meetings
Corporate Governance Compliance
Nominated Representatives, as nominated by P&C Executive, welcome but not expected to attend all P&C General Meetings
​Outside of School Care (OSHC) ​Geoff Pilbeam oshcchair@icsspandc.com
Amelia 6/5D, Eloise 2D
All OSHC activities and overseeing the recruitment, training and retention of 5 permanent staff plus casual support.
​​Events Miranda Robinson & Carolyn Burton eventschair@icsspandc.com Events and activities engaging parents, students and staff typically within the school grounds
Swim Club ​James Knowles swimclubchair@icsspandc.com
Stella Grade 5, George Grade 4, Monty Prep
All swim club activities and the recruitment, training and retention of volunteers
​Tuck Shop / Uniform Shop Sharon Ley sharonley@yahoo.com
(07) 3514 9333 (Tuesday, Friday)
Sophie Grade 7, Rosa Grade 4
All tuckshop and uniform shop activities and coordinating the recruitment training and retention of up to 50 volunteers
Grants Tammy Jones grants@icsspandc.com
Naomi Grade 5, Lyndon 4/3 A & Hanna Prep A
Identifying potential supporters and key dates and coordinating documentation seeking support
The Source Amy Doyle amy@thesource.org.au
Mariamne 4/3F, Fabjian 2B, Vanescia Prep C
Identifying and organizing suitable speakers and topics for the schools forums and wellbeing program
​Mystery Festival Steph Tickle mysteryfestival@icsspandc.com
Mia 6/5C and Romany 6/5E and Sam Grade 8
Responsible for recruiting, acting, directing, producing and organising the Mystery Festival
Communications ​Amanda Williams communications@icsspandc.com
Cyrus Prep D
Identify partners & opportunities for fundraising External communications with government representatives, community noticeboards and media
ICT Ben Sullivan ict@icsspandc.com
Chloe Grade 7, Finlay 4A and Jasper 2C
Improving the accessibility of information available on the school website and coordinating the most efficient means of booking and paying for events
Photographer Julie Vermeir photographer@icsspandc.com Capturing and hosting images of the schools activities that encourages people to get involved
Videographer and Designer Rod Smith rod.smith@greenflare.com.au
Alec 2C
Promoting school activities in a video format and design of the student newspaper Creeky Chronicles
Works ​Position vacant works@icsspandc.com Organizing a working bee each term and coordinating the parents, staff, students, builders, skilled trades’ people and any people willing to assist
Book Keeper Amanda Hutchinson amanda.hutch@optusnet.com.au Paid book keeper maintaining the P&C’s monthly accounts
Auditor ​Agilis Accounts ​​(07) 3510 5100 agilisaccounts.com.au Paid annual auditor of P&C accounts

OPPORTUNITIES TO GET INVOLVED


You can nominate for any of the positions vacant, volunteer to support a subcommittee or become the class representative for your child’s class – 21 volunteers are required each year.

People are welcome at any time to offer ideas, assistance or support to any of the P&C roles directly or contact pandcpresident@icsspandc.com or call 0418 888 840.

Photo of Current P&C Executive from the AGM

Photo of Current P&C Executive from the AGM

From left to right:

  • Vice President Simon Bliss
  • President Robert Dunne
  • Vice President Julie Evans
  • Vice President Rob Kneebone
  • Secretary Geoff Breemer
  • Absent: Treasurer Claire Hooper

Parent Representative Class Contact List 2017

Teacher Parent 1 Email Parent 2 Email
Prep A
Tahlia
Claire Hooper scottandclairehooper@gmail.com Caroline Dunn crdunn2@hotmail.com
Prep B
Aislin
Jan Gildea jan@oncueconstructions.com.au Amber Roberts ambidextral@gmail.com
Prep C
John
Deborah Cross markcross70@optusnet.com.au
Prep D
Kate
Caroline Robinson caroline.robinson@hotmail.com.au Ruby Chari rubychari@hotmail.com.au
1A
Ann
Annette Colpoys annettecolpoys@yahoo.com.au Ruby Chari renaekurth@gmail.com
1B
Melissa
Nadia Sugden nadiasugden@hotmail.com Marina Cid marinacid@me.com
1C
Deb
Amanda Gaunt amanda@rel8.com.au Fiona Hastings-Prosser rfprosser@bigpond.com
2A
Sue
Tathra Pitson tathrajayne@gmail.com
2B
Anne
Serena Jones serena.jones10@gmail.com Caroline Blenkey carolineblenkey@gmail.com
2C
Anthea
Danielle Core danielle@danielleleeagencies.com Miranda Robinson miranda_robinson@hotmail.com
2D
Tamara
Julie Vermeir julie_vermeir@hotmail.com Andrea McCullen andrea.mccullen@bigpond.com
4/3A
Caroline
Lindy Rowe-Barker rowebarker@outlook.com.au Irma Greshoff igresshoff@yahoo.com
4/3B
Vicki
Robyn Keene robynandjonathan@hotmail.com Danielle Langston langston.danielle@gmail.com
4/3C
Sam
Lorraine Jones lorrainejones27@optusnet.com.au
4/3D
Cathy
Catherine Tichbon cathytichbon@hotmail.com Natasha Forrest ncforrest@gmail.com
4/3E
Lindy/Kellie
Kirsty Longworth kirsty.longworth@gmail.com
4/3F
Kath
Amy Doyle cathytichbon@hotmail.com
6/5A
Susan
Lorraine Jones lorrainejones27@optusnet.com.au
6/5B
Erin
Alia Lynch aliaandneil@optusnet.com.au
6/5C
Janelle
Kylie Raymond kylie.raymond@bigpond.com Emily Goodwin emilygoodwin82@hotmail.com
6/5D
Jo
Lyndal Douglas lyndaldouglas@msn.com
6/5E
Ollie/Kellie
Penny Williams pennywilliams@optusnet.com.au Helen Sabel missjacaranda@gmail.com
6/5F
Helen/Kellie
Kitty Deane kittymillyard@hotmail.com